Massively Collaborative Mathematics

Tim Gowers is doing something quite interesting with his blog, starting with a post entitled Is Massively Collaborative Mathematics Possible?, he’s proceeded with a bit of background and a problem to be solved, after which he started on making observations that aim to catalyze thinking about it.  The idea goes beyond just a multiple authored paper, and necessitates a lot of different procedural suggestions to keep the project genuinely collaborative.  

Unfortunately, a fair amount of combinatorics–a subject I never studied–is involved, so I doubt I’ll be able to follow the progress of the project that directly.  Still, I think that there’s something interesting to keep an eye on, that could have implications for how we represent mathematical progress and mathematical understanding.  Not that I can say what those implications would be, mind you.

Comments are closed.