Was There Any Good Music Made in 1984?

Surely there must have been something.  But here goes: a list of favorite albums from every other completed year of my life

1984:

1985: Einsturzende Neubauten – Halber Mensch

1986: Beastie Boys – Licensed to Ill

1987: Guns N Roses – Appetite for Destruction

1988: Joy Division – Substance (Ed: What was I thinking–these songs aren’t from 1988, it’s a freaking compilation!)

1989: The Pixies – Doolittle

1990: The Pixies – Bossa Nova

1991: My Bloody Valentine – Loveless

1992: Dr. Dre – The Chronic

1993: PJ Harvey – Rid of Me (replaced A Tribe Called Quest – Midnight Marauders)

1994: Weezer – Weezer

1995: Bjork – Post

1996: Burzum – Filosofem

1997: Radiohead – Ok Computer

1998: Neutral Milk Hotel – In the Aeroplane Over the Sea

1999: Dismemberment Plan – Emergency and I

2000: Deltron – Deltron 3030

2001: Aesop Rock – Labor Days

2002: Spoon – Kill the Moonlight

2003: Windir – Likferd

2004: Kanye West – The College Dropout

2005: Four Tet – Everything Ecstatic

2006: The Knife – Silent Shout

2007: Spoon – Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga

Making this list was more fun than I’d expected.  At first I couldn’t have named a single album from most years and assumed my list would end up half empty.  1992 was probably the hardest to find candidates.  1999 is perhaps the most embarassing.  Midnight Marauders is the album I first listened to, out of any on the list (which is probably why it’s it was there).  1984 apparently saw the release of Purple Rain, Thriller, and a Depeche Mode album.  I suppose all of those have their virtues, but they don’t quite make the list.  So here’s the question: what the heck did 1984 produce? This appears to be becoming a meme, but it will have to become one without my furthering it.

5 responses to “Was There Any Good Music Made in 1984?

  1. Isn’t Van Halen’s 1984 made in that year? (Or is that just they want me to think?) Van Halen on keyboards is fanastic.

  2. stevenwhite

    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, From Her to Eterntiy

  3. annafrancesca

    well, here are your choices: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1984_in_music#Albums_released

    i’d go with:
    * she’s so unusual – cyndi lauper (technically ’83, but all the singles came out in ’84)
    * the smiths (self-titled)
    * bon jovi (self-titled)
    * like a virgin – madonna
    *

  4. Nice! I’d found the Wikipedia category of 1984 albums, but 1) I think it has over a thousand entries and 2) It doesn’t include band names, which makes life more difficult.

  5. There’s a lot of music I’d like to listen to, but of things that I’ve heard of, I’m strongly inclined to go with the Talking Heads, Psycho Killer being the real selling point.