Telecom Immunity

I almost never manage to notice important votes coming up in Congress in time to contact legislators, but tomorrow is the vote on Telecom Immunity, which seems like a slam-dunk issue: it’s hard to see any reason for giving the companies retroactive immunity for breaking the law.  So I dutifully went to the EFF website, and tracked down information on my representatives (by which I mean I clicked a link and entered my zipcode), only to find out that they oppose the bill.  And so do my parents’ representatives, and the representatives for Chapel Hill.  So umm…none of us need to do anything right now, and my efforts to be responsible have failed.

But if you don’t live elsewhere, you should have a look.

Followup: Two pieces of commentary on the FISA law by Matthew Yglesias: 12.

Comments are closed.