Chain Letter

For an anthropologist, the importance of religious lies in its capacity to serve, for an individual or for a group, as a source of general, yet distinctive, conceptions of the world, the self, and the relations between them, on the one hand–its model of aspect–and of rooted, no less distinctive “mental” dispositions–its model for aspect–on the other.  From these cultural functions flow, in turn, its social and psychological ones.   Religious concepts spread beyond their specifically metaphysical contexts to provide a framework of general ideas in terms of which a wide range of experience–intellectual, emotional, moral–can be given meaningful form.

I was tagged with this exercise by Jamelle.  Simple instructions:

  1. Grab the nearest book (that is at least 123 pages long).
  2. Open to p. 123.
  3. Go down to the 5th sentence.
  4. Type in the following 3 sentences.
  5. Tag five people.

I cheated a bit: Quine’s Methods of Logic and the Atlas were nearer to hand, but I thought that neither was likely to give me a good three sentences.  I rarely pass these things along, but I’ll tag Shawn, Katherine, Kevin, Ros.

Comments are closed.