Prose Styles

I’ve never been satisfied with my writing. It’s not terrible, but it features a lot of awkward turns of phrase and it’s just dull. Perhaps I can blame that on philosophy–consistency being the hobgoblin of little minds and all that–but I suspect that it’s my own fault.

So name some good stylists in the comments. The gold standard would be philosophers, especially contemporary philosophers, but I’ll take anyone writing serious material.  If anyone mentions a one Bertrand Russell, I will cut them.

4 responses to “Prose Styles

  1. One thing I know is that most writers – even the most accomplished ones – never seem to be satisfied of their writing. Writers are their worst skeptics.

  2. I think you could benefit from the prose stylings of one G.W.F. Hegel and one Avram Noam Chomsky. Really, I think Quine is a good writer. Him and David Lewis.

  3. I hear there’s gonna be a class on that Quine fellow this year.

  4. Baudrillard, Derrida and that Timecube site.

    No, seriously, check out Borges’ non-fiction writings.