It Was Entirely Predictable

This is perhaps not a perfect example, but Christine Korsgaard’s Locke Lectures feature the bit of Aristotelianism that’s closest to hand:

So on this conception, every object and activity is defined by certain standards that are both constitutive of it and normative for it. These standards are ones the object or activity must at least try to meet, insofar as it is to be that object or activity at all. An object that fails to meet these standards is bad in a particular way.

Predictably:

Cycladic FigureVenus de Milo

But now:

Gertrude Stein’s Portrait Nude Descending a Staircase

Lastly (this is by Yves Tanguy):

Multiplication of the Arcs

3 responses to “It Was Entirely Predictable

  1. I feel like I’ve missed something in the transition from Korsgaard to Yves Tanguy.

  2. I was just wondering about the constitutive standards for art, and I thought I could do that better at doing that with pictures than with words.

    If it makes you feel better, there’s no argument in the post.

  3. That does make me feel better.